Warning: Declaration of TCB_Menu_Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth) should be compatible with Walker::walk($elements, $max_depth, ...$args) in /home/brilli36/public_html/wp-content/plugins/thrive-visual-editor/inc/classes/class-tcb-menu-walker.php on line 0
Code to Joy Review

Code to Joy review

Code to Joy: Drs George Pratt and Peter Lambrou

‘Why am I unhappy?’ asks Stephanie and so begins ‘Code to Joy’ by Drs. George Pratt and Peter Lambrou.

The authors, two clinical psychologists, present us with a four step program, a ‘Code to Joy’ designed to help people like you rediscover the innate happiness we are each said to possess.

The book is well laid out and practical in nature, with summaries of the four stage process to mark each section end and reinforce our understanding of the key concepts.  Drawing on their extensive clinical experience with many clients (45,000 and counting according to the sleeve notes) the book is packed with an army of case studies illustrating each step of the process.

Despite that it is in no way overly scientific, though it is well referenced, but instead presents a clear structured approach to rediscovering the joy in our lives.

Using the metaphor of fog obscuring our view of the world, the authors posit that painful or difficult experiences from our past (particularly though not solely in early childhood) can adversely colour our lives leading to a ‘fog of distress’ of which we are often unaware.   This leads us typically to have one of seven limiting beliefs with potentially disastrous consequences in our lives.   To achieve our ‘innate capacity for joy’ we need to address that fog of distress, understand it and learn how to dissipate it.

The four-step process involves:

  1. ‘Identifying the event’ and resultant self-limiting beliefs,
  2. ‘Clearing it’ using breathing exercises, neuromuscular and body realignment techniques
  3. ‘Repatterning’ by releasing the self-limiting belief, and creating a new story by replacing the self-limiting belief with a new empowering belief.
  4. And finally ‘Anchoring’ which provides techniques for anchoring new beliefs and thought patterns.

What’s next?